Oktoberfest- always fun, never gastronomically authentic

It’s that time of year again- Prost! I love checking out Oktoberfests all over the country. Wherever I may be at the time, I can always find at LEAST one. Coming from a German background, speaking German, and having visited Germany, I feel at home at these events. The beer selection- always great. The music and dancing- always great. The people watching- always great. The food selection, however- not so great. Whatever background you come from, you tend to know what dishes are traditional of your culture, how it should actually taste, and where to find it when you get a craving. Over the years, I have learned not to get my hopes up when trying out a new Oktoberfest. They mainly serve brats, sauerkraut, pretzels, and wienerschnitzel IF you are lucky. But what about the main staples of sauerbraten, knodel, spatzle, and so many more? In areas where German restaurants don’t exist, if you can’t get authentic German food at Oktoberfest, when and where can you? It makes me wonder if any other culture’s (that I don’t know much about) festivals are this inaccurate as well. Are people of those cultures annoyed that they are not accurately being represented? If any of you know of Oktoberfests (besides the official one in Germany) that have all of these foods and more, I’d love to hear about them! In the end, what it comes down to is the fact that you can’t not have fun at Oktoberfest, and I will press on in efforts to find a truly remarkable one.  Side Note: If you can’t find some place that makes/serves/sells your favorite German food, you can always cook for yourself by going to World Market and stocking up on ingredients like I did yesterday!

3 thoughts on “Oktoberfest- always fun, never gastronomically authentic

  1. F. Meingast says:

    Hi! First of all, I really appreciated your blog and its goal 🙂 🙂

    I’m also belong to a Germanic family and my most unforgettable and remarkable German gastronomic experiences were acquired from the traditional and authentic regular and modest establishments which are widespread in many cities and regions inside Germany.

    As I always noticed, there are a lot of unoffical “Oktoberfests” outside Germany which are just weird “festivals” without a real commitment to the beautiful German festive traditions, unfortunatelly…

    Cheers, F.

  2. lkallmeyer says:

    Thank you so much for your comments! It is good to know that you understand where I am coming from. I am looking forward to going back to Germany for so many reasons, but definitely for the food, since there is nothing like it here in the US. I am looking forward to checking out your blog today! Thanks again 🙂

    • F. Meingast says:

      You’re welcome! Be sure that I do understand you 😉 I belong to a generation that raised outside Europe due to massive Europeans’ immigration movements which has occured alongside 20th century, but my foreign references are strongly alive. Hope you achieve your wishes and I’m glad to have found your blog 🙂
      – Flávio.

Leave a Reply

